RSS

Things I forgot…

19 May

Today I finally met with an old friend for lunch.  I’ve been putting her off for months. It all tied into my depression and the spiral of not feeling good enough, and I’d had enough of it.  Last week I called her.

Finally.

I expected harsh words.  Lots of questions.  Frankly, I expected a lot of bitching and moaning.

I didn’t get it.

I got understanding, an ear to listen, a shoulder to lean on.  I forgot I could get those things.  She just listened to all the things I hadn’t been able to say, and the things I still couldn’t say.  I unloaded everything.  It felt good to get it out. Then we did a lot of laughing, which felt even better.

All she said was “I wish you would have called me sooner, I’ll always listen.”

Deep down somewhere I knew that, but I had forgotten.  But from now on I will remember.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 19, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
